NCVLI and the victims’ rights movement

Crime Victim Law Conference

NCVLI’s Crime Victim Law Conference is the only national conference on rights enforcement in the country. Professionals serving victims gather to learn, share best practices, and plan the future of victims’ rights.

Latest Updates:

The 2022 National Crime Victim Law Conference will be virtual!

Our 2022 schedule is being updated frequently with session details and speakers. Check back often for new information!

To receive information about the Crime Victim Law Conference subscribe to NCVLI’s mailing list.

Learn about the Conference from past attendees in our video!

This is absolutely the best conference for victim rights law. It is a wonderful opportunity to interact with national level victim rights lawyers and advocates on cutting edge victim rights issues.

- 2019 Conference Attendee

Crime Victim Law Conference Awards

Each year NCVLI recognizes individuals and/or organizationsthat have made significant contributions to the enhancement of crime victims’ status and standing within the justice system. We present three awards. The Legal Advocacy Award recognizes crime victims’ rights attorneys who have dedicated and committed their time to representing victims of crime in the criminal justice system. The Gail Burns-Smith Excellence in Victim Services Award recognizes outstanding efforts of an advocate, attorney, allied professional, or victim service organization in elevating the rights and voices of crime victims, and shedding light on often hidden issues related to victimization and healing. The Victims’ Rights Partnership Award recognizes the collaborative efforts of individuals and/or organizations that have devoted their time to advancing crime victims’ rights in partnership with others.

2021 Crime Victim Law Conference Awards

Outstanding Achievement Awards

Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations for the 2021 Outstanding Achievement Awards!

Legal Advocacy Award

Colleen Clase and Elizabeth Well

Gail Burns-Smith Excellence in Victim Services Award

Helen O’Brien


Past Recipients

Legal Advocacy Award

2019 – Jamie Balson, JD
2018 – Rose Mukhar
2016 – Mariam El-menshawi
2015 – Network for Victim Recovery of DC
2014 – Amy Terrible
2013 – Russell Butler
2012 – Erin Olson
2011 – Steve Kelly
2010 – Heidi Nestel
2009 – Crime Victims Legal Assistance Project
2008 – Steven J. Twist
2007 – Jamie Mills
2006 – Cynthia Hora
2005 – Paul Cassell
2004 – Richard D. Pompelio
2003 – Jay Howell & Cynthia Lee Carter
2002 – Lyn Schollett
2001 – Wendy Murphy

Gail Burns-Smith Excellence in Victim Services Award

2019 – David Lisak, PhD
2017 – Scott Flor
2016 – Valenda Applegarth
2015 – Johanna Costa
2014 – Catherine Harper Lee
2013 – Chanpone Sinlapasai
2012 – Jennifer Storm
2011- Anne Seymour
2010 – Steve Doell
2009 – Steve Derene
2008 – Roberta Roper
2007 – John Stein
2006 – Diane Moyer
2005 – Kathy Skaggs
2004 – Gail Burns-Smith

Victims’ Rights Partnership Award

2019 – The Chicago Alliance Against Sexual Exploitation (CAASE)
2018 – LOTUS Legal Clinic
2017 – New Hampshire Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence, Cyrus ‘Rus’ Rilee, Claudia J. Bayliff
2016 – Dr. Jerry Yager
2015 – Detective Carrie Hull
2014 – Courthouse Dogs Foundation
2013 – Coalition to Abolish Slavery and Trafficking (CAST)
2012 – Rocky Mountain Victim Law Center & Denver District Attorney’s Office
2011- Alaska Office of Victims’ Rights
2010 – Victim Witness Section of the United States Attorney’s Office, Eastern District of Arizona
2009 – Mónica Ramírez
2008 – Multnomah County District Attorney’s Office, James McIntyre, & Russ Rato
2007 – Attorney General Hardy Myers
2006 – Grant County Prosecutor’s Office & Dano, Gilbert & Ahrend P.L.L.C.